St Matthew’s was opened in January 1972 with an initial enrolment of 360 children and 12 staff members. In response to a request from the Archbishop of Canberra Goulburn, Archbishop Cahill, the Australian-New Zealand Federation of the Sisters of St Joseph took charge of the new school with the congregations of Goulburn, Perthville and Lochinvar, supplying sisters. Sister Leo Ryan became the Foundation Principal.

The last Principal appointed by the Sisters of St Joseph was Sister Anne Moylan (known then as Sister Peter Julian), who left St Matthew’s at the end of 1987. In 1988 the first lay Principal was appointed, and by 1989 the school was entirely staffed by lay teachers. The community is greatly indebted to the Sisters of St Joseph, who worked so tirelessly to establish and nurture the growth of Catholic Education at St Matthew’s. A plaque commemorating their role in the establishment of the school has been placed in the foyer.

By 1977 St Matthew’s enrolment reached its peak of 912 students. Currently, in spacious, comfortable and well equipped surroundings, the enrolment is now approximately 320 students, drawn mostly from the surrounding suburbs of Hawker, Weetangera, Page and Scullin. We also have students who come from as far away as Hall, Murrumbateman, Yass and Wamboin.